Yeah... I was pretty disappointed.
Seriously, guys? You just sat and bashed the shit out of each other, having no respect whatsoever for each other, the mediator, or the audience who had taken the time to write questions to ask you.
Neither of them really respected the questions they were asked. The mediator kept having to bring them back to the questions asked, while they talked about whatever the hell they wanted to.
Both of them were incredibly on edge, it seemed to me. Their arguments weren't so much about what they were going to do for America if they were elected, but rather about what their opponent wasn't going to do, or what their opponent lied about, or how their opponent is just an all-around bad guy.
Both of these men are career politicians, and this debate kind of concreted this for me. Neither of them really care about America. They say what they say in order to be elected. I don't trust either of them. Both of them are accusing the other of lying, so someone has to be. I think both of them are. This presidency is only a promotion in their eyes. They don't actually care.
Anyway, now that I've sufficiently ranted about these two dumbasses...
Watching their body language, Obama did a good job of looking at Romney the entire time... Until Romney started getting in Obama's face. They began arguing, both standing, both very aggressive. At first, they both did a good job of holding their ground, but then Romney challenged Obama on a specific issue, and Obama turned from Romney and started addressing the crowd instead. I think that this was a weak move on Obama's part because Romney was the one who challenged him, so he should have faced Romney, who was staring Obama down as if his life depended on it. And then, when Romney pressed the issue further, Obama backed down and returned to his seat. At this point, it doesn't even matter what they were talking about, Romney won that exchange. Romney seemed to be much more aggressive than Obama in this respect.
I was pretty much disgusted with this debate. I have no respect for either candidate because they have no respect for each other or their audience. This was kind of a downer. Oh, politics. Lovely.
No comments:
Post a Comment